Defining Mythicism: Some Quick Remarks

I will be working on the second part of this series, in a dialogue with James McGrath (and some others), and will hopefully post this up tonight or tomorrow.  I have been hesitant to rush this series through for a variety of reasons, but the main reason is that I need to figure out the direction I am coming from first before I can critically argue for it.  The next part of the series will work out the rhetoric of the debate which, in my humble opinion, really needs to be evaluated before any sort of real discussion can happen.  The figure of Jesus is an important issue to many people and, because of its contentious nature (all labels aside), has a bad habit of inciting all sorts of contexts and rhetoric which don’t really belong; at least they don’t belong in every instance.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 728 other followers

