Markan Manuscript Dated to the 1st Century?

I heard about this last night from Joel Watts, but it has apparently been getting around the Biblioblogosphere this morning (James McGrath, Jim West, and Brian LePort).

First, I have to agree with Jim West.  Caution is necessary.  There is no need to rush into accepting a 1st Century CE date without first analyzing the evidence.  We all eagerly await the publication from Brill, but until; we can read it and evaluate the data we should be on pause before any more speculation enters the discussion.

Speaking of speculation, Joel Watts and James McGrath have both brought up mythicism.  What amazes me about their criticisms is that, from my understanding of mythicism, the dating of Mark has absolutely zero to do with the historicity of the figure of Jesus.  So why would James or Joel think that this would somehow change the case for mythcists?  Either they are not yet familiar enough with the mythicist arguments or they are just trying to get a rise out of people.   If it is the former, I’m a little embarrassed for them both.  If it is the latter, I admit, I chuckled.

5 Responses

  1. ‘ We all eagerly await the publication from Brill,…’

    I’m sure there are some people in the world who want to see the actual fragment, not read a book about it.

  2. Steven, yes, and of course some will. For the rest of us we should evaluate the data collected an presented in publication.

  3. Your chuckle suggests you grasped my intention correctly. :-)

  4. Ah good, I was worried! ;-) I’ve had one too many serious conversations lately, where stupid things have been said, that my humor radar is busted.

  5. [...] recently caught alot of attention (see here, here, here, here, here, here, here, here, here, here, here, add your link in the comments if I missed you).  First, I agree with Jim West that caution is the [...]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 728 other followers

