I’m Being Harassed and Threatened by Ralph Ellis

Dear Friends and Family,

Since April 8th, Ralph Ellis has been running around Google searching for my name and sending out hateful and spiteful emails to colleagues and friends (also to me, because he doesn’t realize the sites that he is emailing are run by me) because I wrote negatively about his online work (suggesting Jesus was King Arthur, that his relative was Cleopatra, and that Jesus was King of Edessa–so yes, I wrote some scathing posts about them).  This is completely legal and within my rights under the 1st Amendment and through my experience as a student majoring in the field at a high tier research university.

He has libeled and harassed me and continues to do so however, and I want you to be aware that this individual may be dangerous.  He has threatened to ‘run me off’ and I have been saving all the emails and notifications that many of you have sent along (thank you).  I am compiling a portfolio full of his harassing and threatening messages so I continue to ask you all to send everything to me that he sends out to you.

I want to be clear that this isn’t a minor issue.  If Ralph Ellis were simply an internet troll or someone with whom I just disagreed, this wouldn’t be that big of a deal.  But he is actively trying to discredit me to people I’ve known for years and while he will not succeed, he is breaking the law and willfully engaging in bullying tactics in order to force me to remove my negative reviews of his work.  I will not bow to this bully and I want you to know that,

This is the stalker:

ralfellis

Here is how Steve Caruso (and here and here), James McGrath (and here), Diglot, and Joel Watts have handled his threats and libel.  Also Aaron Adair (and here) and Rod from Political Jesus have also jumped into the fray to lend their support.

Daniel McClellan has also offered some helpful thoughts on this whole matter; here is a snippet:

Next, the link in the comment takes one to a website entitled “Thomas Verenna Is A Lying Idiot.” Obviously such an insulting and unprofessional attempt to undermine Tom’s credibility does more to expose Mr. Ellis’ own lack of scruples, but it gets worse. Ellis’ accusations of dishonesty are incredibly ironic in light of his rather transparent habit of posting multiple anonymous and/or sock-puppet comments on his and others’ blogs in an attempt to make it seem like his claims have broad support. This kind of childish and petulant behavior flatly undermines any and all claims on his part to objectivity or scholarly erudition. Mr. Ellis is apparently submitting comments like these all over the internet, and as the link above shows, he’s starting blogs to personally attack Tom.

In another post, Dan writes in response to Mr. Ellis’ complaints:

The worst methodological mistake you make throughout all of your texts, however, is your insistance on synthesizing select data from various different disparate sources, while dismissing data that conflict with your preconceptions. You refuse to acknowledge errors where errors are beyond doubt, while asserting errors where the texts are clearly accurate, all in an effort to manipulate the sources in the aid of your presuppositions. Then you bark about people not being in the know, and not understanding because they’re trying to do history instead of acknowledging that the truth is cryptically hidden underneath the surface of the text. This is pseudo-scholarship, pure and simple.

Ralph Ellis is not in his right mind, as you can see.

Courtesy of Steve Caruso

Courtesy of Steve Caruso

Here are some links with more information:

Thanks,

Tom

15 Responses

  1. unbelievable nonsense. If ya can’t take the heat, then you shouldn’t be in this business. I’m speaking of Ralph here. One cannot expect to publish anything in the historical or scientific community without having it reviewed critically. If you can’t take criticism, then…you shouldn’t be writing books.

  2. […] If you have the time, please do me a favor and go over to Amazon.com, and report Ralph Ellis for abusive use of the reviewing system there: Is This Not The Carpenter ? on amazon. He has been sending Tom threatening emails: please see: I’m Being Harassed and threatened by Ralph Ellis. […]

  3. your Steve Caruso, James McGrath links are broken.
    I am so sorry Ralph is hounding you.

  4. Thanks I’ll fix.

  5. He left a similar comment on my blog here.

  6. Thanks for letting me know.

  7. That is awesome by the way!

  8. If he’s British, you may be able to contact the police over here regarding our Malicious Communications Act.

  9. He’s left a comment on my blog as well:

    http://danielomcclellan.wordpress.com/about/#comment-3268

  10. Feel free to do what you will with it, Dan. :-)

  11. I can’t believe this guy is stalking you on the interwebs. Who does that? He must have the mentality of a ten year old.

    P.S. I edited out his comment on my blog.

  12. […] Carpenter?’ (see here, edited to remove a link to some smut about Tom). Tom has a round-up of his harassment. So, let me institute the same policy I said I wanted to use against those that harass people in […]

  13. I have some comments up about Mr. Ellis here:

    http://danielomcclellan.wordpress.com/2013/04/10/on-ralph-ellis/

  14. […] I haven’t done by homework. Considering every point of criticism I made (besides attacking his bullying tactics) was based on what he wrote in his books, points that no one else had brought up, probably because […]

  15. […] learn that Ellis has been harassing Tom, including leaving libelous claims and links on blogs and at Amazon. Ellis has also been emailing […]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 771 other followers

