Second Call for Submissions: November Biblical Studies Carnival

First, my apologies to readers and my fellow Bibliobloggers for not being more active this year.  Unfortunately, school and personal matters have kept me busy.  First the call, then some updates:

  • The Publisher has confirmed that the volume of collected essays I edited with Thomas Thompson will be published in April.  This is good news, especially since Equinox has only just recently moved and I’m told that such activities can push back publication.  Also, a copy will be on display at the SBL meeting in November, so all those who happen to be within the area, please feel free to check it out.
  • I know this is a continuing issue with Carnivals but I need more people to submit things to me.  I’ve got the Reference Library working for me and RSS feeds, but frankly I have only received a handful of  submissions.  I just don’t have the time to look over the thousands of posts daily to pick from them suitable ones to post.  While I am pulling from over 50 active blogs, there is no guarantee that yours is among them.  I also would like to have a strong presence of women Bibliobloggers in my carnival because, clearly, they need more representation.  So please, for the love of Pete, either post your blog links in the comments section of this post or email me your submissions.
  • On a personal note: I recently discovered I am the descendant of a German Baron whose line goes back as far as the 1500′s, and whose wife’s line (a Baroness) goes all the back to the 1150′s.  This Baron was excommunicated by the Catholic Church c. 1700′s and the family came over to the United States in the 1730′s.  The one son of the Baron’s was a Revolutionary War hero and Captain in the local militia.  The research into this took up most of my time over the past three weeks.  Thankfully, much of it was done by family and it had only been a matter of filling in some blank names.   Still, this was exciting news.  You often don’t think to find that you’re descended from nobility.
2 Responses

  1. Actually, chances are that any European from the 1500′s (particularly a nobleman) with surviving descendants is an ancestor of all people of European descent in the world today. On the British quiz show QI, Stephen Fry asked which of his contestants was a descendant of Charlemagne as a trick question. The answer, of course, was that they all were.

  2. Interesting, but not really in this case.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 728 other followers

