Google Honors Howard Carter

Today Google honors Howard Carter, the famous archaeologist who discovered Tutankhamun’s tomb.  A little known fact about this: Howard Carter is the man who sparked my interest in ancient history.

When I was just a child, I remember getting a book on ancient Egyptian society and in the book was a small blurb about Howard Carter and Tutankhamun and I was immediately hooked.  I asked my mom for a book just on King Tut and Howard Carter, and she delivered.  For the life of me now I cannot remember the name of the book (it was one of those novelty large paperback books for kids with lots of pictures and infographs and whatnot) but I remember vividly laying in my bed at night, under the covers with a flashlight, reading away.

I must have read that book a hundred times (in between all of those Goosebump books which were wildly popular back then).  It is funny when you think about what influences you when you’re young and how those influences can have such a large impact on our lives.  Reading about the discovery of Tutankhamun’s tomb, the mummy, ‘the curse‘, it brought history to life for me as a kid in a way I can’t fully explain now as an adult.  I just recall reading about ‘the curse’ back then and believing, just a bit, in the magic of it all.

So kudos to Google for honoring Carter.

This blog is no longer in use; NO comments will post.

